30 before 30 – Updated

The last time I wrote this post I was about to turn 21, 4 and a half years have passed so I thought I would revisit it & see if my goals are the same (spoiler alert – they are not!) and if I had achieved any so here we go! The old list is as follows

  1. Buy a house (eeeeek) – HA! This one I did, not in the way I expected but I did get the new build I wanted (soz Max) thanks to a sneaky lil pandemic meaning mortgages were WILD when we were buying but that’s for another post entirely.
  2. Go to Dubai (instagram made me want this, so many pretty picture) – Nope, not bothered anymore, in fact I actively don’t want to go, the way they treat women is atrocious.
  3. Go to New York (so many trips to take). -Yesssss, this one is still on the list!
  4. Save 6 months wages (seems very sensible if were buying a house) – Dear 21 year old Courtney, you own a house and you still do not have this, it’s ok & if you do it then great, if you don’t, it doesn’t matter. Dogs are more fun than savings
  5. Stay in a dodgy hostel for a trip. – Nope, no thank you, not for me.
  6. Climb Mt Vesuvius (and obviously go back to Italy). – I don’t mind this one, I just don’t feel any passion for it. I would rather book to go to Yorkshire with Atlas & Linda.
  7. Get 2 baby doggies (I don’t actually mean babies cause I want to rescue but they will be my babies). – I mean, I have two pets now and neither are rescues (it is still my goal to get a rescue, we just aren’t there with circumstances having just had a baby).
  8. Go on a wine tasting (you all know how much I love wine). – I love wine less but I’m still down for the experience.
  9. Go into the Empire State Building in New York. – I feel like this is covered in the other New York point, I obviously want to go sightseeing.
  10. Go to a real German Christmas Market. Yeah, this is off the list, it would be cute but there is much more I could do!
  11. Find an anti-aging skincare routine that works for my skin. – This is very needed, even though I have been drinking plenty of water, breastfeeding has absolutely taken it out of me, my skin hair and nails are SO dry! So if you have any anti-ageing skincare recommendations then please let me know!
  12. Learn Italian – adding another long term task to my list at this point is enough to tip me over the edge!
  13. Get fit (I want to be able to jog and walk without getting crazy out of breath). – I did this! And not in the #instafit way but in the way that I was healthy, I could walk for miles and I was going to the gym multiple times a week, then I had a baby. So I can’t wait to rejoin the gym and get strong again.
  14. Go on a trip alone. – Can alone be with my dog? Because if so, I’m there.
  15. Conquer my fear of heights. – Oop, no thank you. Being pregnant I had to face my fear of needles and it hasn’t gone anywhere, no need to test a different phobia.
  16. Become a cocktail master (because why not?). The why not is when will you ever use it now? No thank you.
  17. Walk a half marathon. This is still on my to do list *texts bestie to see if she will join me*
  18. Have babies. – I really did do that. Best thing ever.
  19. Move out of the area, not too far, just 20-30 mins away from work. – I also did this.
  20. Go out out (because I never do). – No thank you.
  21. Get married (hint hint Maxy). – We are one step closer being engaged but I don’t know how long it will take for us to tie the not.
  22. Learn to code. – This would be nice.
  23. Get a kitchen in my house done exactly the way I want it (I work in home appliances so I am a bit of a kitchen geek). – I have a tiny kitchen in our house and won’t be moving for a while so maybe? I’m hoping our next house will have a beautiful kitchen, I don’t work in kitchen appliances anymore though.
  24. Stop drinking fizzy drinks all together. – I am afraid I have become a Coke Zero fiend so this won’t happen, I don’t drink too much though.
  25. Get a new car. – I did this but it wasn’t ‘new’, in fact it was a old diesel estate but I love her and can’t imagine life without her.
  26. Visit Chester Zoo. – I forgot this existed and I feel very conflicted on zoos now so maybe not.
  27. Take my mum away for her 40th. – I missed this, maybe we will go away for her 50th.
  28. Settle in a career. – Oh blimey things have changed, I don’t want this anymore.
  29. Have dinner in the Shard. – Boring, no thank you.
  30. Not hide under the covers when I wake up on my 30th birthday. – The only hiding I will be doing is pretending to be in a den with my little boy, growing has been wonderful and I can’t wait to do more.

Well, it doesn’t feel like I’ve done nothing in the last 4 years 😂 and a lot has changed. I have achieved 4 of the goals, 9 still stand and the rest are not my thing anymore so let’s do a new one shall we? New post pending.

5 thoughts on “30 before 30 – Updated

  1. Girl, you are still young! Enjoy it! Don’t worry about age just yet. I’m about to be 29 and I would love to be 21 again. lol The only thing I’ve done on this list is #25 when I bought a brand new car (four years ago). It’s so weird because I thought I would get married and have a baby around my mid 20’s, and now here I am about to turn 29 and I’m still single and living at home. =/ If you do any of these things, you’re already doing better than me. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really want to hit these goals but I wont push myself if that makes sense, I just want to live my life but these are the things I hope I do! I cant imagine doing these things but I also cant imagine not doing them before 30, then again life flies by! x

      Like

Leave a comment