Things to Binge – Winter 2020

Imagine, this blog post was originally titled ‘Things to Binge – November’, laughable really because I have zero excuses for not getting it out on time and now it is the last week of the month, oops. If you live in the UK it’s likely that Winter is going to be absolutely freezing, soggy, miserable, good old UK weather so why not curl up on the sofa with a good series. I thought I would give my recommendations and I had no clue how to do this. There are so many streaming services around at the moment and we are all subscribed to different ones so I have two recommendations for your average channels and then two for Netflix and two for sky/NowTV (I think they are kind of the same thing).

Sky’s offering is the reason that each of the paid for subscriptions needed two, I have just absolutely devoured The Affair and I know I am late to the game because the first season came out in 2014 BUT it is absolutely flawless. I won’t go into the storyline for obvious reasons but the story follows Noah Solloway and Alison Bailey who meet by chance and have an affair (I know, who’d have guessed it from the title) and how this affects everyone around them. Its twisted, beautiful, sad, enthralling and a complete fucking rollercoaster. A great series to get lost in. Oh and Ruth Wilson is my absolute girl crush.

Two weeks to live. This was tooooooooo short. It was only 6 episodes and I wanted so much more although I guess that was the aim. It follows Kim (the fantastic Maisie Williams who played bad bitch Arya Stark in Game of Thrones) who is trying to avenge the death of her dad after her mum has brought her up in isolation. Her journey to discovering not everything is quite as it seems is absolutely hysterical and bizarrely almost relatable. This had Max and I howling and was a nice light watch albeit there is a slight gore warning.

Average channel time. By average channel I absolutely mean catch up and to be fair, most of these are because there is nothing better than a good winter binge. First up is something you will have watched and if you haven’t, where have you been for the last 10 years? Gavin and Stacey! The perfect, heart-warming winter pick me up ESPECIALLY the Christmas Specials. I have watched them over and over this month and credit my sanity still being in the building to Ruth Jones & James Corden.

Ready, steady, BAAAKE. Yes The Great British Bake Off is nearly over so if you have been following intensely every week (who hasn’t?) then that’s no fun but GO BACK TO OTHER SERIES, let it warm your soul.

And finally Netflix, Holidate is absolutely fabulous for a Saturday afternoon cheesy watch. Sloane (Emma Roberts) is sick of spending Christmas single with her family when all of her siblings are loved up and she is looked on as a failure when she comes up with a solution to her problems. Yes, you can guess the way this goes but a cheesy Christmas chick flick is perfect when Coronavirus is determined to steal all of our happiness and freedom.

American Murder: The Family Next Door is a heartbreaking watch following the story of Chris Watts, it is a documentary surrounding the murder case which happened in 2018. It is horrifying, but if you like true crime cases (honestly who doesn’t at this point?) it will be right up your street. For any podcast fans who feel like they might not be up to watching it but want to know more, the ladies at RedHanded did a fantastic podcast on it which can be found on any podcasts app I believe.

I am dying for more recommendations so if you have anything you have particularly enjoyed recently then please drop it in the comments and let me know what you think if you watch the ones above!!

Leave a comment